Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
New Hampshire law, RSA 75:8-A, requires that all cities and towns do a revaluation every 5 years. Nashua’s last revaluation was in 2013. A revaluation means all property assessments will be raised to 100% of fair market value. Since the values of many homes have increased by 25% or more since the last revaluation in 2013, this means that the property taxes on your home may go up. State law and the New Hampshire Constitution require that every municipality do a revaluation every 5 years.
KRT Appraisal, expert consultants, will be doing a statistical revaluation. A statistical update which analyzes market sales throughout the entire municipality will be done to identify and implement needed value changes to the affected areas or classes of property at the municipality’s general level of assessment. During the next several months, KRT Appraisal Staff will be visiting all properties in Nashua. This is to ensure that the assessment data used to calculate your assessment is accurate.
The reason for an assessment change in a non-update year is that the data listed on your property record card may have been inaccurate. You may have made no changes to your property over the years, but the data could have been incorrect.
Assessment values are required by the Department of Revenue Administration to be at Market Value. You could also see an assessor if you have a building permit, or if your home is flagged for ongoing construction. We are working diligently to minimize our visits to properties to help prevent inconveniences to the homeowners. We apologize in advance for any inconveniences our visits have caused. We are merely trying to ensure the data is accurate so that ALL taxpayers are assessed fairly and equitably.
Every property will be reviewed from the street. There may be occasions where we need to drive up a driveway at the home if visibility is obstructed from the street. KRT’s vehicles will be marked with a sign stating KRT Associates and staff will be carrying a photo ID. Because there are so many properties to review in a limited window, KRT Staff will not be stopping to engage in conversation. If you are concerned about a vehicle parked in front of your home you can call either Nashua City Hall or the Police Department to confirm if it is indeed one of our Assessors or KRT Staff.
During the month of August, we will be sending a notice of your new value to every taxpayer in Nashua. At that time the letter will indicate how and where you can review your assessment and the assessment of others. The data will be available online and taxpayers will be able to do sales comparison searches. If a taxpayer is concerned with their assessment they should use the online tools to compare their property to the sales properties. Listings of all the assessments will be available on the computer terminals at the Assessing Department. Should a taxpayer not have computer access at home, the Public Library does have computers available for this type of review and research.The letter will also provide dates and times for you to attend informal hearings. This will allow you the opportunity to sit and discuss your assessment with a representative of KRT Appraisal. This is a good opportunity to point out any physical data errors you feel may exist or discuss why you feel your assessment is inaccurate. If data errors exist, KRT Staff may schedule an appointment to accompany you to your home and review the data. All taxpayers that request an appointment will be scheduled at a specific time and then will receive a final notice of value at a later date. This final notice of value is the value that will be used to compute your 2018 taxes.
Once the tax bill has been received the taxpayer would need to file an abatement with the Assessing Department. Forms are available at the Assessor’s Office or online at the City’s website. The State of NH Board of Tax and Land Appeals (BTLA) has the abatement form on its website as well. Once you receive your notification of your abatement and you are still dissatisfied, the next step would be to file an appeal with either the State of NH BTLA or the Superior Court.
We hope this process is a smooth one but we understand not all taxpayers will be happy with their new assessments. Both the local and state appeals processes are very fair processes that have worked for many years to ensure taxpayers are treated fairly. The Assessing Department will attempt to answer taxpayer questions or concerns, but until the values are finalized all questions should be addressed through the informal hearing process.
Market value is determined by buyers and sellers, the real estate market and the general economy. Our current assessments were arrived at in 2013 and the market has appreciated since then. The 2017 assessments were found to be at about 79.1% of market value. For April 1, 2018 we are required to bring assessments back to 100% of market value. This will mean for most residential properties they will see their assessment increase. However, not all property appreciates or depreciates at the same rate. KRT will research and analyze the values in any particular area or neighborhood to determine the 2018 market values. In effect we are placing a value on your property that we believe is representative of what you would sell your home for on April 1, 2018.
The new values are effective as of April 1, 2018 and will be used to calculate the December tax bill.
It depends how much your property value has increased. If the total value of taxable property in the City increases as a result of the revaluation, then the tax rate will decline. Not all properties appreciate or depreciate at the same rate. For example, assume that your home is currently assessed at $200,000 but its fair market value is actually $250,000, and that commercial properties are on average selling at 95% of market value. In this example, the commercial properties could see a tax decrease because they were valued at 95% of market value, while your home would see an increase because it was valued at 80% of fair market value. This is merely an example to help understand the process.
The 2018 property tax rate is calculated by the State of New Hampshire Department of Revenue and will not be available until sometime during the month of November. The state needs a series of documents from the municipality, school district, county and state agencies, in order to calculate the tax rate and it is expected that not all documents will be available to them until the month of October. We do anticipate that with the increased property tax base for 2018 (as a result of the revaluation and real estate market), that the tax rate itself will decrease. However, we do not know how much that will be. A decrease in the tax rate may, or may not, result in a change to property tax bill as each bill’s calculation is also dependent upon what each individual property’s revised assessment is.
2020 tax rate is $22.61 per thousand dollars of assessed property value.
View the current Nashua Tax Rate and Tax Rate History.
The City of Nashua updated assessments in 2004, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2013 and again in 2018.
The 2019 equalization ratio for Nashua is listed at 88.8%.
State of N.H. Department of Revenue Administration
A shed under 200 square feet does not require a building permit. Although, a Land Use Permit is required for any size shed. Therefore, a Building and Land Use application will need to be submitted with a Plot Plan showing where the proposed shed will be located. If you do not have a Plot plan, one may be obtained from the property file at the Building Safety Department.
Per House Bill (HB) 562, NH adopted the 2015 ICC codes with State amendments and the 2017NEC effective September 15, 2019.
No. The COVID-19 vaccine cannot give you the disease.
The COVID-19 vaccine is free. You will not be charged for the vaccine if it is administered to you at a state fixed location. If you receive the vaccination through a provider, you may be charged for administration fees.
It is the U.S. Vaccine Safety System’s job to make sure that all vaccines are as safe as possible. Scientists and medical experts have been researching this type of virus for years, which allowed for faster creation and distribution of the vaccine. The new COVID-19 vaccines have been evaluated in tens of thousands of individuals, who volunteered to be vaccinated and to participate in clinical trials. The information from these clinical trials allowed the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to determine the safety.
Getting the COVID-19 vaccine protects yourself, your loved ones, and your community, including the most vulnerable residents. Building defenses against COVID-19 is a team effort, and you are a key part of that defense.
There are currently three COVID-19 vaccines available.
Yes. Unless you are currently actively infected with COVID-19, you should get the vaccine. Studies have shown that some individuals can get the disease more than once. However, if you were treated for COVID-19 symptoms with monoclonal antibodies or convalescent plasma, you should wait 90 days before getting a COVID-19 vaccine.
Only New Hampshire residents are eligible for vaccine in New Hampshire. After registering for vaccination, individuals must bring at least one document listed below at the time of their appointment:
For any additional questions about COVID-19 vaccination eligibility, call 2-1-1.
Wait at least 14 days before getting any other vaccine, including a flu or shingles vaccine. If you get another vaccine first, wait at least 14 days before getting your COVID-19 vaccine. If a COVID-19 vaccine is inadvertently given within 14 days of another vaccine, you do not need to restart the COVID-19 vaccine series; you should still complete the series on schedule.
Vaccination is an important consideration for adults of any age with certain underlying medical conditions because they are at increased risk for severe illness from the virus that causes COVID-19. People with underlying medical conditions can receive the COVID-19 vaccine provided they have not had an immediate or severe allergic reaction to a COVID-19 vaccine or to any of the ingredients in the vaccine. The two COVID-19 vaccines currently available in the United States do not contain eggs, preservatives, or latex. For a full list of ingredients, see each vaccine’s Fact Sheet for Recipients and Caregivers:
Learn more about vaccination considerations for persons with underlying medical conditions.
People who are pregnant may choose to be vaccinated and should talk with their health care provider if they have any questions. While breastfeeding is an important consideration, it is rarely a safety concern with vaccines.
Yes. People who want to get pregnant in the future may receive the COVID-19 vaccine. Based on current knowledge, experts believe that COVID-19 vaccines are unlikely to pose a risk to a person trying to become pregnant in the short or long term.
After COVID-19 vaccination, you may experience some side effects. Mild side effects of the COVID-19 vaccine include arm soreness near the injection sight, red, or warm to the touch. These symptoms usually go away on their own within a week. Some people report getting a headache or fever when getting a vaccine. These side effects are a normal sign that your body is doing what it is supposed to do by building protection against the disease.
People are considered fully vaccinated when they are 2 weeks after their second dose in a 2-dose series, like the Pfizer or Moderna vaccines, or 2 weeks after a single-dose vaccine, like Johnson & Johnson’s Janssen vaccine. If it has been less than 2 weeks since your shot, or if you still need to get your second dose, you are not fully protected.
After vaccination, continue to:
Learn more about after you are fully vaccinated from the CDC.
Please visit the State of NH’s COVID-19 Vaccine Information Frequently Asked Questions or the CDC’s Frequently Asked Questions about COVID-19 Vaccination.
As there are also restrictions governing the Education Channel E-nnouncements, if your organization does not qualify, our Public Access Bulletin Board might be the answer. For this, please go to Access Nashua.
At this time you can use the City of Nashua’s Online Payment Portal to pay for the following:
You will be charged a processing and transaction fee to conduct any debit, credit or eCheck payment online. You can avoid paying these additional fees by paying in person with cash or personal check or by mailing a check payment. Please allow 3 to 5 business days to receive your registration renewal(s).
Debit/Credit payments - The processing fee is calculated as 2.79% of the amount of the bill, with a minimum fee of $1.50. There will be an additional transaction fee of $1.50. These fees are collected by the payment processing vendor and no portion of these fees are funded to the City.
We are pleased to provide you with the ability to receive quick and convenient estimates for your vehicle registrations. The estimated fees calculated are subject to change and may vary depending upon how, when and where you complete the registration process.
Your financial institution’s statement will show one payment for the City’s bill amount and one payment to EB2Gov for the processing and transaction fees.
Please visit our Online Payments page for details about making an online payment.
The cost of a dog license is as follows:Please note, if paying online, there is a transaction fee and convenience fee associated (usually around $3) with the online service payed to the credit card processing service in addition to the fees below.
City Hall is closed to the public and the City Clerk’s Office will continue to accept online, mail in requests, and drop-offs (Use the outside Drop Box on Elm Street side of building). We are experiencing delays in processing requests. Thank you for your continued patience. Pay online anytime (before fees are due).
Failure to license a dog is a violation of state law and city ordinances. In addition to the annual license fee you will be charged a late fee of $1 per month for each month (or part of a month) after June 1.
In addition, you are subject to a civil forfeiture fee of $32 due within 15 days after receiving notice of forfeiture. If the forfeiture is not paid, the case will be disposed of in Nashua District Court. Any dog off the premises of the owner of the dog without a current registration tag on his collar may be subject to impoundment, a penalty of $32, and to all other penalties and provisions as provided by the Nashua Code of Ordinances (Sections 5-1 through 5-11).
The term ‘face covering’ refers to a covering made of cloth, fabric, or other soft or permeable material, without holes, that covers the nose, mouth, and surrounding areas of the lower face. A face covering may be factory-made or homemade from ordinary household material. We do not recommend the use of a valve mask. Valve masks have a one-way valve that closes when you breathe in, so pathogens can’t get in, but opens when you breathe out. This creates an open doorway for your respiratory droplets to leave the mask and is not effective in preventing the spread of COVID-19.
The use of face coverings is required to be worn by everyone over the age of five in public settings where you are unable to maintain social distancing (a distance of six feet between yourself and others). This includes:
A face covering is not required to be worn by any person if said person can show a medical professional has advised that wearing a face covering may pose a risk to said person for health related reasons. A face covering is not required to be worn by children five years of age and younger. The use of a face covering is not recommended for children less than 2 years of age.
A face covering is also not required to be worn for the following:
Please call the City of Nashua Police Department NON-EMERGENCY phone number at (603) 594-3500.
To properly put on the face covering, practice the following.
To properly remove the face covering, practice the following.
Wash your cloth face covering after each use in a washing machine or by hand using warm water and soap. Always allow your face covering to completely dry. If wearing a single-use face covering, please discard after each use. DO NOT place your mask in a microwave as that is a fire hazard and will not clean or disinfect your mask.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has instructions on how to make your own face covering in several different methods, including machine or hand-sewn, a no-sew method with a T-shirt and scissors, and a no-sew method with a bandana. You can view detailed instructions on their website at www.cdc.gov/coronavirus.
The City of Nashua Division of Public Health and Community Services (DPHCS) has a supply of face coverings to protect our community. If you and/or your family is in need of face coverings, please contact Nicole Viau.
It is not possible to quote fees for a particular registration over the phone, however an estimate can be obtained in person or online. For more information, visit our
You can obtain a Temporary Plate at any of the State Motor Vehicle Substations. The following is a listing of just a few of these locations:
- 23 Hazen Drive, Concord, New Hampshire
- 110 Broad Street, Nashua, New Hampshire
- 4 Meadow Brook Drive, Milford, New Hampshire
- 377 South Willow Street, Manchester, New Hampshire
- 33 Geremonty Drive, Salem, New Hampshire
Phone calls should be directed to Concord at 603-227-4000. For more information about Temporary Plates, please see
We accept the following forms of payment:
- Bank checks
- Cashier checks
- Credit cards (2.79% service fee)
- Money orders
- Travelers checks
- Our ATM ($2.25 service fee)
The following items are acceptable proof of residency:
A valid New Hampshire Driver's License with the correct Nashua address listed or a valid out-of-state Driver's License, along with one of the following:
- Postmarked mail dated within 30 days (if using a PO Box proof of Legal Address is also required)
- Current rental or lease agreement signed and dated within the last 30 days
- A letter (on letterhead) from the rental owner or management company stating that the resident lives at that address
-Current utility bill with "for service at" address provided (gas, electric, oil, water/sewer, cable/dish, or telephone (landline service only)
You can now renew vehicle registrations online via credit card for a fee of 2.79% + a $1.50 transaction fee, or via eCheck for a fee of $0.95 + a $1.50 transaction fee.
Replacement registrations, Stickers/Decals, and Plates can be obtained at City Hall in the Motor Vehicle Registration Department. Duplicate Title Applications are available at the State Department of Motor Vehicles offices. The forms are also available online (PDF).
No person shall be issued a motor vehicle registration with outstanding parking violations. To find out if you have outstanding parking tickets and what the amount is please contact Traffic Violations at 603-589-3205. More information can also be found at
We are located at City Hall in downtown Nashua at 229 Main Street.
Due to COVID-19 health concerns, we have limited hours from 8:30 AM to 3:00 PM and a limit of how many may enter the building at the same time, until further notice.
For information on registering a vehicle or obtaining a Driver's License under the age of 18, visit our
For trailers weighing 3,000 pounds or less, the City of Nashua will issue the Vehicle Identification Number to you (with a bill of sale and a properly executed Form 19A).
For trailers weighing 3,001 pounds or more (Title 10), you must call Highway Enforcement at 603-271-3339 and a state officer has to inspect the trailer and issue the Vehicle Identification Number.
If you buy out your lease, the registration is treated as if it were brand new and you become the new owner and must change the registration to your name and your birth month.
You will need to bring in either the New Hampshire Application for Title or the actual Title signed over on the back to you by the leasing company, along with your current registration.
If you buy out the lease prior to the expiration of your registration you will receive the remaining credit on your registration and pay the difference through your birth month.
Under New Hampshire State Law you have 60 days to obtain a New Hampshire Driver's License and register your vehicle after moving to the state. For more information, please see the
If your vehicles are year 2000 or newer, you will sign the back of the titles over to your trust. Although the vehicles will be titled in just your trust's name, your name can still appear first on your registration as Trustee only (no personal ownership) so that you can keep your birthday month as your month of registration and vehicle inspection.
In order to get this done, you'll need to bring in the following:
- Your titles to the vehicles
- Your legal papers naming the actual trust name and trustees
- Your Driver's License
- The current mileage on the vehicles
- Your current registrations to the vehicles.
The cost is $27 for each title and $3 for each registration, providing your vehicles are currently registered and we only need to add the Trust name 2nd on the registration.
If your vehicles are year 1999 or older, we will need your current registration along with a new Bill of Sale from the primary owner (Trustee) to the Trustee (primary owner) and the Trust. Bill of Sale forms are available in our office.
The cost for updating your non-titled vehicles is $3.00 per registration.
Over 400 Bus stops are located throughout the city, every 2 or 3 blocks along the routes. Buses serviced on daytime routes are clearly marked with blue Citybus signs and stops serviced at night are clearly marked with yellow After 7 bus stop signs. All routes meet at the Transit Center located at 30 Elm Street behind City Hall.
Transfers are free within City of Nashua Limits. Please make sure to ask the driver for a transfer ticket when boarding if you need to transfer buses.This ticket is only valid on the next available bus.
There is a two bag limit on the bus. You must be able to store the bags in the area where you are sitting. Please do not bring any large objects on board that require multiple seats. The two bag limit is in place as a courtesy to other passengers and for safety reasons. Unsecured bags pose a safety concern to the driver and all passengers on board as loose bags and the objects within them may fall into the aisles and pose a trip and fall concern.
Yes, you can bring a baby stroller on the bus. It must be folded up and stored in between or under seats; strollers are not allowed in the aisle. Reasonable accommodations will be made to parents with strollers. We recommend that your baby ride in your lap during the trip.
All Nashua Transit vehicles are 100% ADA accessible. For more information, see our ADA Reasonable Modification page.
During the winter months, all of our drivers are trained to drop off and pick up passengers at locations that are safe for all parties involved. Many times that means that drivers will pick up and drop off at intersections (or driveways) that are close to the bus stop but provide an easier exit and entrance to the bus (most of our stops are near an intersection).
If you are waiting for the bus at an intersection close to the stop, our drivers have been trained to stop and pick you up. Please wave to the driver as the bus approaches to signal that you would like the bus.
When you request a stop in an area with large snow banks (or little to no shoulder) our drivers will stop the bus in an area that will allow you to exit the vehicle in a safe manor.
Our drivers are trained to be vigilant for riders waiting at stops, but there are a few things passengers can do at night to make sure you are seen. Feel free to wave to the driver or hold up your illuminated cell phone. By doing so you will attract the attention of driver and make it much easier for the driver to see you.
NH Alerts is an emergency notification service that allows City of Nashua & State of New Hampshire emergency officials to notify residents and businesses by telephone, cell phone, text message, email, social media, and mobile app regarding time-sensitive emergency notifications. Only authorized officials have access to send notifications with the NH Alerts system. NH Alerts uses OnSolve CodeRED as the backbone of this notification system.
Any notification regarding the safety, property or welfare of the community will be disseminated using the NH Alerts System. This will include urgent updates on natural disasters, public health outbreaks, snow emergencies, water boil orders, evacuation notices, missing children, law enforcement activities, hazardous materials situations and any other incident requiring immediate action. Sign up for NH Alerts
As of 07/01/2019 the City’s CodeRED system has integrated with the NH Alerts system. The NH Alerts system is not be used to send non-emergency notifications. Residents and businesses are asked to sign up for the appropriate non-emergency situations through the Notify Me service on the City of Nashua website. Sign up for the City of Nashua Notify Me service.
NH Alerts delivers the notification through a high-speed telephone calling system to a phone number in the NH Alerts database. City or State officials will access NH Alerts via a secure portal on the web. A ‘call area’ will be marked identifying street addresses. Telephone numbers will be matched up electronically to these addresses through the use of Geographical Information Systems (GIS). A voice and/or text message will be sent out via the telephone with information about the incident and possibly instructions for action to be taken.
This system is an enhancement to existing means of communication and is meant to supplement current or procedures used for mass notification. In addition to NH Alerts, the City (and State if applicable) will still provide information to local TV, radio, and newspapers, emergency status, Nashua Community TV, Official Nashua Facebook and Twitter accounts, and the Nashua Emergency Information Line 603-589-3456. As of 07/01/2019 the City’s CodeRED system has integrated with the NH Alerts system.
As of 07/01/2019 the City’s CodeRED system has integrated with the NH Alerts System. NH Alerts uses OnSolve CodeRED as the backbone of this notification system. The City no longer has an independent CodeRED system and has gained additional features, streamlining, and cost savings by integrating with the NH Alerts system. Residents may now enjoy added features including Spanish and French translation and automatic severe weather alerts from the National Weather Service.
For more frequently asked questions about NH Alerts, click here.
No resident should assume that their information is in the system. Therefore we urge all persons living or working in Nashua to enter their phone numbers into the NH Alerts system along with their home and/or work address. In this way everyone can be quickly receive NH Alerts emergency notices from the City (or the State if applicable). The NH Alerts page on the City of Nashua website, has a link to the NH Alerts Community Notification Enrollment page where you can register online.
Anyone previously registered for the City of Nashua CodeRED system will continue to receive alerts from the City through the integrated NH Alerts system. However, we encourage everyone to update their information in NH Alerts and take advantage of the new features.
Yes. Fill out the NH Alerts registration form but be sure to select the “This address is business” option. Please note that emergency calls can only be delivered to a direct dial number. Automated attendants will disrupt the process and the calls will not be delivered. Businesses should register their main number and establish a procedure for distributing the NH Alerts notification to their workforce.
An NH Alerts Emergency notification will have a caller ID and phone number of the City Department that is sending the message (i.e. Nashua Police Department, 603-594-3500 or Nashua Emergency Info Line, 603-589-3456, etc). The 1-800 numbers utilized when CodeRED was initially implemented by the City are no longer in place.
1. Listen carefully to the entire notification.
2. You will have the option to repeat the notification by pressing any key.
3. Follow the instructions of City Officials (or State officials if applicable).
4. Do not call 911 or any other City of Nashua or State phone number for further information unless directed to do so. You should call 911 only if there is an immediate threat to life safety and you need immediate aid from the Police or Fire Department. Calling 911 unnecessarily will only tie up emergency lines.
Make sure you have at least one working corded telephone – and be sure to turn the ringer on. The NH Alerts sign-up form allows you to indicate both a primary and alternate phone number. Cell phone and/or work phone numbers can be entered as alternate phone numbers. Both primary and alternate phone numbers will be contacted when a notification is sent.
Yes, the NH Alerts system will leave a message on a machine or on voicemail. The NH Alerts system will leave the entire message in one pass.
If the line is busy, NH Alerts will try 2 more times to connect.
- If your contact information has changed and you have not registered your new information.
- If you have only cordless phones in your residence, the power is out and you did not register an alternate phone number.
- If your line is busy for an extended time and your calls do not forward to voicemail or an answering machine.
- If you have a privacy manager on your main phone and you did not register an alternate phone number.
The City of Nashua and/or the State of New Hampshire will receive a report of undelivered calls and can instruct the NH Alerts system to begin another round of calls to busy numbers. It is best to have an alternate phone number in the calling database for these situations.
If your area of the community is not be affected by the incident, the City may elect to target the notification to the specific area where the emergency is going on. In this case, you won’t receive a call even if it’s only a block away. This is an effort to ensure that only residents and businesses who need to take action receive notifications.
Yes, residents are asked to download the free NH Alerts app from the Google Play Store or Apple App Store. Residents will receive alerts for the City of Nashua (or statewide issued alerts) regardless of whether or not they are within the City or State borders and will get geolocated alerts anywhere an OnSolve CodeRED system is utilized in the United States. Notifications for the NH Alerts app are based on the current location of your cell phone rather than your registered address. Visit the Google Play Store or Apple App Store and search NH Alerts to download.
We recommend that you register a cell phone number which can receive text notifications into the system. During an emergency when many people are trying to utilize their phones, text notifications are much more likely to go through than a voice call.
We highly discourage residents or businesses from unsubscribing from NH Alerts as they will not receive critical emergency notifications. However, if you are in our database, and you do not want to be in our database and be contacted by NH Alerts, you must email the Office of Emergency Management at firstname.lastname@example.org. After receipt of your email, the Office of Emergency Management will confirm the addresses, phone numbers, and email addresses that you would like to remove from the system and will keep a record of this request.
The City of Nashua has temporarily approved expanding outdoor dining areas for main street. This means parking areas will be designated and reserved for outdoor dining. Main street will be narrowed to allow barriers to separate traffic and dining areas and traffic patterns may be altered. View the interactive map to learn more: https://nashua-nh-covid-19-stay-informed-nashuamaps.hub.arcgis.com/app/7c988aaa25ba4afc9af9a09490960055
For a listing of Nashua restaurants services and hours, please visit our interactive map - https://nashuamaps.maps.arcgis.com/apps/opsdashboard/index.html#/51b21812cd654290aee67c875a649f28
You can also see Main Street modification plans and restaurants with this interactive map - https://nashua-nh-covid-19-stay-informed-nashuamaps.hub.arcgis.com/app/7c988aaa25ba4afc9af9a09490960055
The City of Nashua has approved on-street parking spaces to be 15-minute parking from Noon to 9 pm daily.
15-minute parking is free.
15- minute parking time limits shall not apply to designated handicap spaces.
View an interactive map of parking spots.(Click on items or areas to get a description)
View the approved City Ordinance.
There is a Resources & Guidance webpage for Businesses.. Please use the BUSINESS TAB to learn more about keeping in touch with the City and using tools (Self-reporter map) to help notify your customers that you are open.
https://www.nashuanh.gov/1343/Resources-Guidance > Use the Business tab
Other resources:Interactive map of Main Street modifications for Outdoor Dining:https://nashua-nh-covid-19-stay-informed-nashuamaps.hub.arcgis.com/app/7c988aaa25ba4afc9af9a09490960055
This is in effect immediately and shall remain in effect until midnight November 15, 2020.
Report the broken meter by calling 603-589-3331 and leaving a detailed message, including meter number, date and time, and meter issue. If that is not possible, leave a note on your windshield and email email@example.com to notify the Parking Department as soon as possible.
You may inquire as to the availability of reserved parking spaces at any of the City of Nashua’s municipal lots or parking garages by contacting the transportation/parking department by phone at 603-589-3205, or by email.
All parking meters are free on Sunday as well as on all legal holidays.
To dispute a parking ticket please fill out a Parking Appeal Form. The form must be filled out completely and accurately. The citation will receive an administrative review and you will receive a response within 10-14 business days. If the citation is deemed valid, you will be notified that you must pay the fine or that you can contest the citation by having a hearing in Nashua District Court.
Online Parking Appeal Form
If you do not wish to fill-out the online form above, you can download the below PDF form, print, fill it out, and mail along with a photocopy of the citation to: City of Nashua, Parking Department, 229 Main Street, Suite 234, Nashua, NH 03060
Parking Appeal Form (PDF)
Parking citations will not be dismissed for the following reasons:
Any Apple or Android device can support PayByPhone and can be downloaded at:
Registration with a free PayByPhone account is required and can be completed via the mobile app (on iOS and Android devices), the web app at m.paybyphone.com, or by phone at 866-234-7275 (the account will be activated immediately and the parking session can be started on the initial phone call). The next time you call or log on, your details will be automatically recognized.
The following information is required to set up an account:
When you pay for parking by phone, your license plate and parking time are automatically displayed on the device used by the parking officer. Users do not need to display a receipt.
If you believe you have received a ticket in error, please contact the Parking Department. Instructions are on the back of the ticket. You can use your PayByPhone account to check payment status. Please print out copies to bring or send to firstname.lastname@example.org. They will not accept visual inspection of your phone as proof.
Adding a vehicle may be completed within the PayByPhone app, by going to m.paybyphone.com and logging into your account, or by calling the parking line at 866-234-7275 and follow the prompts. You may add up to nine vehicles.
Yes. Your credit card number is encrypted when you sign up and is never entered, displayed, or spoken during a transaction.
Each time you pay for parking with PayByPhone, the payment is processed in real-time. The amount of time that elapses before it shows up on your account will vary depending on your credit card company. Your charge will appear as “Pay By Phone Parking” on your credit card statement.
You can view all your transaction by logging onto your account at paybyphone.com. All parking charges can be printed off in the form of a receipt. Email receipts are available; select this optional feature on your profile.
Fax, email or mail complete information on your firm including, name, address, phone, fax, email and areas relevant to your capabilities, to the Purchasing Manager at the Purchasing Department.
Vendors are encouraged to meet with the Purchasing Manager to ensure that full consideration is provided. Please contact the Purchasing Office at 603-589-3333 weekdays during the hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. to schedule an appointment.
Latex paints and other latex-based must be dried out till they are rock solid. Once solid, the paints will not harm the landfill. Solid latex paint cannot be put into the curbside trash toters; it must be brought in plastic trash bags to the landfill for disposal.
The Nashua Police and the Street Department make every effort to avoid towing vehicles. If a vehicle is towed during a snow emergency, it will be brought to the City’s Four Hills Landfill at 840 West Hollis Street where it will be released after proof of ownership and payment of fine. Call the Snow Hotline 603-589-4795 for the landfill's hours of operation, as well as acceptable forms of payment.
Residents can call the Street Department at 603-589-4750.
You can now look up your tax information on our website: www.NashuaNH.gov/TaxLookup.
If you are requesting a copy of a Lien Release through the mail then you will need to be specific in what you need. Please indicate the property location, the name on the account and which year(s) you need of the Lien Release. Please include a check for $12 for each property being requested. Information Request Form (PDF)
In order to avoid paying a fee for a duplicate receipt, you can request a receipt when you make payment at our counter or you should include a stamped-self-addressed envelope with your payment and a paid receipt will be mailed to you for your income tax records. Please be specific in what you need such as indicating the property location, the name on the account and which year(s) you need the receipt for.
If the address on your bill is not correct, you will need to do an address change with the Assessor’s Office. You may also mail in your address change to the Assessor’s Office at: 229 Main Street P.O. Box 2019 Nashua, NH 03061-2019
Change of Address Form (PDF)
We accept Cash, Credit Cards (MasterCard, VISA, Discover, and American Express), Checks, Money Orders, Bank Checks, and Travelers Checks. You can also Pay Online.
The Property Tax Year is April 1st through March 31st. Property tax bills are sent semiannually. The first installment bill is due on July 1st, the second installment due date varies depending on the date the tax rate is set and the date the bills are postmarked, generally no later than December 20th. The July Tax Bill is an estimate based on 50% of the prior year's tax rate. Once the State Department of Revenue sets the Tax Rate, the December bill covers the balance of the property tax owed for the tax year. Please note: if you are purchasing or selling a home, property taxes will be prorated by day from April 1st of that year.
Yes. The City of Nashua is now offering Property Tax and General Billing self-help look up services online. Nashua's Citizen Self Service portal is part of the growing suite of online services offered by the City, which enables taxpayers, business owners, banks, real estate services, mortgage and title companies to view and pay property tax bills and general billing invoices at any time of day.
If you are behind in rent, mortgage, or utility payments related to issues around COVID-19, help is available. If you live in Hillsborough County, we encourage you to contact local organizations for assistance. It is important that you are communicating with your landlord and are seeking assistance to pay any rent due in order to avoid eviction.
The CDC eviction moratorium has been extended through March 31, 2021. However, this does not mean as a tenant you do not have to pay your rent. For more information on this process, please access the following link which connects to the CDC Eviction Moratorium page. There is also a link on the CDC page to the tenant declaration form.
For general assistance with rent, mortgage, or utilities, you may contact your local municipal Welfare Office and/or Town Hall of the city or town you reside in. Contact information for the Greater Nashua Region is noted below.
Additional resource agencies providing assistance at this time include:
You may be eligible for unemployment relief, even if you are self-employed. Find out if you are eligible for benefits online.
If you are looking for employment opportunities, search at NH Job Match System.
In order to be eligible for unemployment benefits, you are required to file a continued claim each week certifying the reason(s) you were unable or unavailable to work for the prior week. Here are the updated questions, required by the Federal CARES Act, that you will see when filing your weekly claim.
If you are able to self-certify as to being unable or unavailable to work because one of the circumstances in the above document related to COVID-19, then you are eligible for unemployment benefits under the Federal CARES Act. For more information, visit NH Employment Security or call the unemployment assistance hotline at 603-271-7700.
If you do not have access to a computer and need to complete an application online, call the local office of employment security in Nashua at 603-882-5177.
As of March 19th, the NH Department of Health and Human Services’ (DHHS) Bureau of Family Assistance District Office buildings will be closed for client-facing activities until further notice. People in need of assistance may apply for benefits online at www.nheasy.nh.gov and will be scheduled for a phone interview in order to complete their benefits application.