
Residential 
MECHANICAL 
Application / Permit 

Gas ______________________ Date ____________ 

Rough ______________________ Date ____________ 

Final ______________________ Date ____________ 

Received by  

_______________ 

Date 
_______________ 

Address  Permit # 

Owner Date Issued _____________________________ 

1 and 2 Family       Townhouse   New   Addition/Renovation  Property Acct # _____________________________ 

Type of fuel:   Natural Gas   LP Gas  Fuel Oil * 
* NH Dept of Safety “Application for Permit to Install Oil Burning Equipment”
shall also be filled out  (Available in Dept of Bldg Safety) 

Item Fee Quantity Total 

  0-99K BTU $25.00       100K-199K BTU $40.00      200K BTU and above $50.00 plus .22 per 1,000 BTU 

  GAS SUPPLY OUTLETS (each branch) 
  INSTALLATION OF STORAGE TANKS less than 499 gallons, fuel oil (each) 

2 EQUIPMENT 
  FURNACE (Includes ductwork)  NEW DUCT WORK WILL REQUIRE A DUCT PRESSURE TEST 
 WATER HEATER 

  REFRIGERATION SYSTEM PIPING, COIL, OR CONDENSING UNIT (each) 

  BOILER:  WATER or STEAM 

  BOILER:  WATER or STEAM with domestic hot water generator 

  BURNER:  CONVERSION or REPLACEMENT   Oil   Gas 

  HEATER:  VENTED OR UNVENTED   Floor    Wall    Room   Gas log       (each) 

  DRYER    EXHAUST        VENTILATION FAN          (each) 

  GAS APPLIANCE   BASEBOARD LOOP   (each) 
3 WOOD STOVE           PELLET STOVE    (Includes associated chimney) 
4 FACTORY BUILT FIREPLACE  (Includes associated chimney)    Gas     Solid fuel   (each) 
5 MASONRY FIREPLACE (Includes associated chimney) 
6 MANUFACTURED CHIMNEY 
7 OTHER   Miscellaneous work not covered above (each)  Describe: 

8 REINSPECTION for same work due to failure to pass initial inspection or unavailability of 
premises at time of initial inspection 

Subtotal 
9 APPLICATION FEE  (non-refundable)  30.00 

    MINIMUM TOTAL FEE            Receipt # _________________ TOTAL 
10 SURCHARGE for permits issued after construction started without a permit 

*100% of applicable fee, but not to exceed $275.  Such violations also subject to criminal penalties under NH law. * 275.00

Contractor  ___________________________________________________________________ Gas Fitter License # ______________________ 

 Address ____________________________________________________   City ____________________________   State _____   ZIP _________ 
I attest all statements made on this application are true to the best of my knowledge.  Applicants are advised that the making of a false statement on this form is a 
criminal offense. 

Signature of contractor or person making application Telephone number Building Official or Designee 

MECH Res   June  2018CALL 589-3080 ONE DAY IN ADVANCE FOR AN INSPECTION         
Please have your permit #, address, and type of inspection ready so we may expedite your inspection request 

POST THIS CARD SO IT IS VISIBLE FROM THE STREET 
~ PLEASE SEE OTHER SIDE ~

1 DELIVERY SYSTEM:  GAS PIPING (each) 
Enter # of BTU's

Enter 25/40/50 in Fee Field.  Increase Qty by 1 for Every 1000 BTU over 200K

tooheyj
Highlight

tooheyj
Highlight



Location Permit # Prop Acct # 

Fuel Gas Fitter Requirements (RSA 153:27) 
In accordance with this New Hampshire Statute, it is unlawful for anyone to do gas fitting without a license unless they are exempt from the 
licensing requirements.  No one is exempt from the Fuel Gas Code requirements.  All installations, regardless of who performs the work, must 
comply with New Hampshire and Nashua Mechanical and Fuel Gas Codes. 

Exceptions for owners of existing single-family stand-alone structure (RSA 153:36) 
The fuel gas licensing requirements do not apply to anyone who performs fuel gas fitting within an existing single-family residence owned or 
occupied by him or her.  This exception only applies if the owner is actually installing the work.  Owners who apply for and are issued permits 
and then decide to contract with a licensed gas fitter, for all or a portion of the work, shall have the licensed gas fitter apply and obtain a permit for 
the work being done by the licensed gas fitter.  The Owner shall not obtain this permit and then have someone else (licensed or not) do the 
work under the permit obtained by the owner. 

I have read and understand the above.  I understand that making a false statement on this form is an offense against NH law.  I 
attest the place where I intend to perform gas fitting work is a single-family stand-alone residence. 

__________________________________________________________ ____________________________ 

Signature Date 

MECHANICAL INSPECTIONS REQUIRED 
The following inspections are required in Nashua as a minimum.  Additional inspections may be necessary, depending upon specific 
circumstances.  You must call 589-3080 at least one day in advance for these inspections before proceeding to the next building phase. 
1. Fuel fired appliances – After installation, prior to any concealment; start up and testing
2. Gas piping – Natural and/or LP – Prior to any concealment and setting of meter or tanks; any additional branches to existing piping
3. Storage tanks

a. Underground – After tank and related piping are installed and prior to backfilling
b. Above ground and/or in buildings – After installation and testing  (May be scheduled at time of appliance inspection if applicable)

4. Fire and smoke dampers – Prior to any concealment
5. Ductwork and smoke detectors – Prior to insulation and ceiling tile installation or any concealment
6. HVAC equipment, general – Prior to any concealment; at completion and upon start up
7. Metal chimneys – Prior to any concealment; after installation
8. Masonry fireplaces and chimneys  (3 inspections minimum)

a. Footing c. At completion
b. At completion of the throat (smoke chamber) and prior to start of the chimney position d. At the discretion of the inspector

9. Wood stoves, pellet stoves and factory built fireplaces – Prior to any concealment of vent pipe, chimney, or fireplace; at completion of
installation

Date Inspection Performed Inspector 
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